Craig J. Hawker

Craig J. Hawker


Craig J. Hawker is the director of the California Nanosystems Institute, Dow Materials Institute and Facility Director of the Materials Research Lab at the University of California Santa Barbara. He holds the Alan and Ruth Heeger Chair in Interdisciplinary Science and is the Clarke Professor within CNSI. Craig is a member of the Materials Department and the Department of Chemistry and Biochemistry at UCSB and came to UCSB in 2004 after eleven years as a Research Staff Member at the IBM Almaden Research Center in San Jose, CA.

Craig Jon Hawker was born on January 11, 1964 in Australia. He attended the University of Queensland, Australia in 1981 and received his undergraduate degree in Chemistry. After graduating, Craig went to the University of Cambridge in the United Kingdom to study the biosynthesis of Vitamin B12 under Prof. Sir A. R. Battersby. Upon finishing his doctorate, Craig ventured to the United States to do his post-doctoral work with Professor J.M.J. Frechet at Cornell University.

Craig began his professional career in 1990 as a Queen Elizabeth II Research fellow at the University of Queensland before being hired by IBM in 1993 to work at the Almaden Research Center. In 2001, he became an Honorary Professor of Chemistry at the University of Queensland.

Craig's CV in pdf format.



2017 Charles G. Overberger International Prize for Excellence in Polymer Research
2017 Aldrich Lecturer, University of Colorado, Boulder
2017 Dauben Lecturer, University of Washington
2016 Nova Lecturer, Canadian High Polymer Conference
2016 Patterson Lectureship, University of Western Ontario
2016 Kurt Wohl Memorial Lectureship, University of Delaware
2016 Jean Dreyfus Boissevain Lecturer, Western Washington University
2016 Belgian Polymer Award
2016 Elected Member of the National Academy of Inventors
2015 Elected as Fellow: American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS)
2015 Dow Lecturer, Northwestern University
2015 Sproull Lecturer, Cornell University
2015 Purves Lecturer, McGill University
2015 The Grandpierre Lecturer, Columbia University
2015 Eli Lilly Distinguished Lecturer, Colorado State University
2015 Pettit Lecturer, University of Texas, Austin
2014 Bridgestone Distinguished Lecturer, Case Western Reserve University
2014 Richard T. Arnold Lecturer, Southern Illinois University
2014 William G. Dauben Lecturer, University of California, Berkeley
2014 McGavock Lectureship, Trinity University
2014 Peter Timms Lecturer, University of Bristol, UK
2013 ACS Award in Polymer Chemistry, American Chemical Society
2013 Elected Fellow, Royal Society of Chemistry
2013 Otto Warburg Lecturer, University of Bayreuth, Germany
2013 Gassman Lecturer, University of Minnesota
2013 MacLean Lecturer, McMaster University
2012 Centenary Prize, Royal Society of Chemistry
2012 CPE Lecturer, Imperial College of Science and Technology, UK
2012 Merck-Karl Pfister Lecturer, MIT
2012 Marker Lecturer, Pennsylvania State University
2012 Eastman Lecturer, University of Akron
2011 KFUPM Chair Professor, King Fahd University of Petroleum and Minerals, Saudi Arabia
2011 Arthur C. Cope Scholar, American Chemical Society
2011 Class of ’60 Lecturer, Williams College
2011 Commencement Speaker, University of California, Santa Barbara
2010 Elected Fellow, American Chemical Society
2010 Elected, Fellow of the Royal Society
2010 Polymer Division Fellow, American Chemical Society
2010 Macro Group UK International Medal for Outstanding Achievement
2010 Bayer Lecturer, University of Southern Mississippi
2010 RSC Chemical Sciences Lecturer, UK
2010 Moses Gomberg Lecturer, University of Michigan
2009 PMSE Fellow, American Chemical Society
2008 DSM - International Performance Materials Award, IUPAC
2007 Humphrey Memorial Lecturer, University of Vermont
2007 Mark Scholar Award, American Chemical Society
2006 Proctor & Gamble Lecturer, Wright State University
2006 Dillion Steele Lecturer, University of Queensland
2006 IMS Distinguished Lecturer, University of Connecticut
2006 IBM Research Division Award
2005 Dutch Polymer Award, Dutch Chemical Institute
2005 ACS Award in Applied Polymer Science, American Chemical Society
2005 Murtiashaw Lecturer, University of South Carolina
2005 Discovery Lecturer, DuPont Central Research
2005 Frontiers Lecturer, Department of Chemistry, Texas A&M University.
2004 Victor M. Chambers Memorial Lecturer, Department of Chemistry, University of Rochester
2004 Industrial Scientist Award, American Chemical Society
2004 Cherry Emerson Jr. Lecturer, Department of Chemistry, Georgia Institute of Technology
2004 Named in Top 100 Most Cited Chemists (1994-2004) Thomsom ISI
2003 Bayer-Stein Lecturer, Department of Chemistry, University of Massachusetts, Amherst
2003 Co-operative Research Award, American Chemical Society
2002 Whitby Memorial Lecturer, Department of Polymer Science, University of Akron
2002 Inaugural Cornforth Lecturer, Department of Chemistry, University of Sydney
2002 Melville Lecturer, Department of Chemistry, University of Cambridge
2002 IBM Corporate Technical Recognition Award
2001 Carl S. Marvel Award in Creative Polymer Science, American Chemical Society
2000 Young Scientists Award, IUPAC
1999 Rauscher Lecturer, Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute, NY
1999 Patent Invention Award, IBM Corporation
1998 Carothers Lecturer, DuPont Central Research
1997 Arthur K. Doolittle Award, American Chemical Society
1997 Patent Invention Award, IBM Corporation
1995 Innovation Award, IBM Corporation
1993 Rennie Memorial Medal, Royal Australian Chemical Institute
1992 Research Award, Australian Research Council1991 Treloar Prize, Polymer Division, Royal Australian Chemical Institute
1990 Queen Elizabeth II Research Fellowship, Australian Research Council
1985-1988 Ribbands Scholar, Wolfson College, University of Cambridge
1985-1988 1851 Research Scholarship, Royal Commission for the Exhibition of 1851
1985-1988 Overseas Research Scheme Award, S.E.R.C.
1988 Science Fellow, Harkness Fellowships
1985 Commonwealth Scholarship and Fellowship Award, British Council
1985 Masson Memorial Medal, Royal Australian Chemical Institute
1985 University Medal, University of Queensland1984 Poole Award, University of Queensland
1984 CSR Chemicals Prize, University of Queensland
1983 Douglas McNaughton Scholarship, University of Queensland
1983 T.G.H. Jones Scholarship, University of Queensland
1982 Edward Taylor Memorial Prize, University of Queensland
1981 Chemistry Prize, University of Queensland